Name Calling, I Guess

Words taken from Merriam-Webster quiz, on which I did poorly (7/13). Some are most obscure and perhaps will never be used in quotidian talk. Nevertheless, I chose to give them a place here, else I’ll have to pay monthly to use MW’s unabridged dictionary from which many of these words were selected and whose definitions are only available through this feature. That’s a no-no. Green means I got the answer right, be it through familiarity or sheer luck.

Gamphrel
A stupid person.
Git
A stupid or worthless person.
Bezonian
archaic: an indigent rascal; scoundrel. A dishonest person.
Sniptious
Attractive and fine.
Gemütlich
Agreeably pleasant.
Psychagogic
Persuasive and inspiring.
Bombastic
Pompous and overblown.
Spunky
Full of spirt and courage. Plucky.
Geusioleptic
Has a pleasant flavor.
Pediculous
Infested with lice.
Flamboyant
Bold and attention-grabbing.
Formosity
Beauty
Scaramouch
A cowardly buffon

I’m still trying to finish two entries for my diary. It’s proving difficult.

Author: James

RN. Live Simply.